Skincare Angels Blog

Emerge Laser Treatment Review by The Sentinel

Mary-Ann Astle of The Sentinel newspaper came to our Nantwich clinic in Cheshire recently to review the new Emerge Fractional Laser treatment, read on to see what she made of it... 

When it comes to non-invasive advanced skincare the demand for laser treatments is on the increase. Mary-ann Astle tried out laser skin resurfacing...

I'm no stranger to beauty treatments and neither are my friends, but when I mentioned I was going to “have my face lasered", it generated quite a few questions.

What did that mean? Would it hurt? And was it something to do with me being a sci-fi fan?

To anyone who's new to the world of advanced skincare, it's actually far less scary than it sounds.

Laser skin resurfacing treats undesirable skin imperfections on your face and body, and it's now easier than ever to improve the way your skin looks and feels without surgery or lengthy recovery times.

That's not to say that you shouldn't take it seriously. When it comes to high-tech beauty treatments you must always put yourself in the hands of the professionals.

Which is why I went to Skin Health Spa, which has been one of the leading centres for skin treatment since 1999. Skin Health Spa has five clinics and I'm a regular at their Nantwich branch.

So how does laser skin resurfacing work? The Emerge Fractional Laser uses micro-beams to target skin imperfections without harming surrounding tissue.

The laser extends through the epidermis into the dermis, and this allows the body's natural healing process to rebuild tissue with new collagen and elastin, which are the building blocks of youthful-looking skin.

This helps to banish all manner of imperfections from age spots and sun damage to fine lines and wrinkles.

Before my first treatment I was invited for a quick patch test, done by a qualified aesthetician. My first full treatment lasted 50 minutes and the aesthetician talked me through the process before she began, so I knew what to expect.

I was given some protective goggles to wear (it is a laser after all) and off she went. It wasn't in any way painful, it felt very similar to the tingling you get from acupuncture needles.

As the treatment went on, my face became very warm, and if you've ever had cause to use a hot topical treatment like Deep Heat, you'll understand the sensation.

After the aesthetician had finished going over my whole face with the laser (avoiding the very delicate eye area) it felt like I'd had my face next to a very warm radiator for too long. But she then used a cool roller to reduce the heat before making a second pass with the laser.

After she'd finished, there was no doubt that my face was a lot redder than usual – but not embarrassingly or frightening red. The immediate redness wore off quickly, but I did have a more rosy complexion than usual for a few days. Nothing that some mineral make up wouldn't hide.

Some people experience dry, flaky skin – this is the shedding of the old cells – but it's nothing a gentle exfoliation won't solve.

I was told that it usually takes two treatments to start seeing the full effects, but I noticed an improvement after the first one. And after the second session (which took place two weeks after the first treatment) there was even more of a difference. My skin felt smoother, it looked better and I reduced the amount of foundation I needed.

I'm now a fully-fledged fan of laser skin resurfacing and I'll be adding it to my list of brilliant aesthetic treatments.


Read more: http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/Beauty-Testing-laser-skin-resurfacing-Skin-Health/story-26130789-detail/story.html#ixzz3UkMEVTDz 
Follow us: @SentinelStaffs on Twitter | sentinelstaffs on Facebook

 

To find out more, please book a Consultation or call 0800 24 25 145 for more details.

Written by Skin Health Spa, on 18/03/2015

Recent Posts

Detox Myths and Truths
17/01/2017. Read now

COMCIT Facial OK Magazine Feature
04/01/2017. Read now

Cryolipoylsis Fat Freeze Treatment Review By The Quick Red Fox
21/12/2016. Read now

Blogger review on our oxygen facial!
14/12/2016. Read now

Jamie Cullen Reviews our signature Ultimate Facial Treatment
12/12/2016. Read now

Scar treatments
07/12/2016. Read now

Our 12 tips of Christmas!
30/11/2016. Read now

Christmas Gift Guide 2016
23/11/2016. Read now

Tis the season, your party preparation secrets!
23/11/2016. Read now

NEW Cristal Cryolipolysis Fat Freezing Treatment
02/11/2016. Read now

Our Top 7 Halloween Skin Tricks And Treats
20/10/2016. Read now

Is your sleep position contributing to your wrinkles?
28/09/2016. Read now

NEW Mesopeel Chemical Skin Renewal Treatments
14/09/2016. Read now

Skincare Through The Years
12/07/2016. Read now

Skin and Tonic
27/06/2016. Read now

PRP Therapy for Thinning Hair
09/06/2016. Read now

If skin could speak
06/05/2016. Read now

What is Vampire Therapy?
21/04/2016. Read now

A Guide to Facial Fillers
01/04/2016. Read now

Easter Treats That Boost Skin
21/03/2016. Read now

Go Green With Our Top Skin Foods This Paddys Day
17/03/2016. Read now

Understanding Skin Peels
15/02/2016. Read now

New Year Skin Resolutions
05/01/2016. Read now

New Evolutionary MicroNeedling Therapy
14/12/2015. Read now

The Cryo Oxygen Facial Has Arrived
19/11/2015. Read now

Our Guide to Skincare While Flying
10/11/2015. Read now

Whats Fact and Whats Fiction When It Comes To Botox
23/10/2015. Read now

Changing The Face Of Ageing With Botanical Stem Cells
12/10/2015. Read now

Introducing Aqualyx Fat Dissolving Injections
29/09/2015. Read now

Facial Treatment Preferences
22/09/2015. Read now

Transitional Skincare Heading Into Autumn
03/09/2015. Read now

Eye Openers To Put The Sparkle Back
19/08/2015. Read now

The Problem With Hyperpigmentation
30/07/2015. Read now

Mesotherapy for Facial Skin Hydration
23/07/2015. Read now

The Importance of Skin Texture
14/07/2015. Read now

The Right Frequency
01/07/2015. Read now

Treating Scars
22/06/2015. Read now

Post Beard Skin Recovery
18/06/2015. Read now

10k Skin Health Giveaway
17/06/2015. Read now

Semi Permanent Makeup Now Available
15/06/2015. Read now

Survey Shows Brits Are Failing To Protect Skin From Cancer
10/06/2015. Read now

The Benefits of Using Acids in Skincare
01/06/2015. Read now

Wedding Season Is Here
27/05/2015. Read now

5 Tips To Protect Your Skin This Summer
13/05/2015. Read now

The Impact Of Pollution On Your Skin
06/05/2015. Read now

Emerge Laser Treatment Review by The Sentinel
18/03/2015. Read now

Freckle Face Love or Loathe?
17/03/2015. Read now

Pumpkin Peel Review by Chic Muslimah
16/03/2015. Read now

Mothers Day Gift Ideas
09/03/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal vs. IPL What Is The Difference?
04/03/2015. Read now

Tour Of The Juvederm Factory
24/02/2015. Read now

Flint + Flint Swag Bag
20/02/2015. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Emerge Laser for Stretch Marks
19/01/2015. Read now

What Are Skin Boosters?
02/01/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal Case Study
16/12/2014. Read now

Acne Scarring Case Study
09/12/2014. Read now

Stuck For Gift Ideas This Christmas....
03/12/2014. Read now

New Flint plus Flint Candle and Review By Erin Bells
02/12/2014. Read now

Christmas Has Come To Skin Health Spa
24/11/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight The Micropeel
14/11/2014. Read now

A Case Study Of Acne Treatment
07/11/2014. Read now

Skin Tips For The Upcoming Party Season
23/10/2014. Read now

Stoptober Healthier Looking Skin In No Time
14/10/2014. Read now

Preparing Your Skin For Autumn
30/09/2014. Read now

Antioxidant Power
11/09/2014. Read now

A Case Study of Sun Damaged Skin
21/08/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight Eye Hero
28/07/2014. Read now

Dispelling Skin Myths
21/07/2014. Read now

Tales Of Timler Reviews Our Louie Facial
09/07/2014. Read now

Flint Plus Flint Skincare Lands At SHS Clinics
23/06/2014. Read now

Manchesters Finest Review Our Refinery Facial
13/06/2014. Read now

Skin Supplements Whats it all about?
21/05/2014. Read now

Your Essential Countdown To Summer
15/05/2014. Read now

EMERALD STREET REVIEW
01/05/2014. Read now

Colonic Hydrotherapy Now Available
29/04/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert! Agera The No Prep Peel
15/04/2014. Read now

Our Hollywood Effect Facial Features in Grazia
01/04/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Juvederm Hydrate
27/03/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight: EyeBrite Serum
18/03/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert Dermafrac
10/03/2014. Read now

NEW Six Steps To Skin Health Treatment Card
07/03/2014. Read now

JuiceToU Skin Detox Review
18/02/2014. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Aromatherapy Massage
06/02/2014. Read now

What A Year
08/01/2014. Read now

Christmas Shop
10/12/2013. Read now

New Men Only Treatment Card
18/11/2013. Read now

New Treatment Alert MangoBrite Peel
24/09/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Sculptra
14/08/2013. Read now

An Evening Of Indulgence For St Lukes Hospice
12/08/2013. Read now

Its Back The 50% Off Sale
06/08/2013. Read now

Dorridge Make Over Complete
25/07/2013. Read now

New Lustre Pure Light Pro
12/07/2013. Read now

Skincare rewards
10/07/2013. Read now

The Importance Of Sun Protection
17/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Danielle Lloyds Baby Shower
15/05/2013. Read now

Makeover Treat For Celebrity Mum
22/04/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Clear & Brilliant Laser
09/04/2013. Read now

Rebecca Moss Treatment Review
25/03/2013. Read now

First Round Of Sweepstakes Winners
25/03/2013. Read now

New Flagship Manchester Clinic Now Open
06/03/2013. Read now

Makeup Bag Essentials Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics
26/02/2013. Read now

Professional Beauty Awards 2013 Winner
26/02/2013. Read now

Diary Of A Laser Hair Removal Course Treatment 1
01/02/2013. Read now

The Refinery Mens Grooming Collection
30/01/2013. Read now

Xen Tan Dark Lotion Review
02/11/2012. Read now

October Hot Offers
20/10/2012. Read now

Chemical & Physical Exfoliation: What's The Differ
16/10/2012. Read now

Weird & Wonderful Beauty Treatments
08/10/2012. Read now

Moroccan Oil REVIEW
17/09/2012. Read now

Nail Art Inspiration
17/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Transderm
17/09/2012. Read now

London Fashion Week Beauty Trend
17/09/2012. Read now

The Low Down On Laser Hair Removal
17/09/2012. Read now

Essie
14/09/2012. Read now

The Ultimate Facial REVIEW
14/09/2012. Read now

Emma Watson
12/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Skin Rejuvenation
10/09/2012. Read now

The Importance Of Double Cleansing
04/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Ultimate Facial
04/09/2012. Read now

We Love Beauty Bloggers!
31/08/2012. Read now

DIY Beauty: Chocolate and Vanilla Bath Melts
29/08/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Enzyme Facial
24/08/2012. Read now

Sleeping Beauty: Do You Get Enough Beauty Sleep?
21/08/2012. Read now

Youngblood Cosmetics: Now Available At Skin Health
19/08/2012. Read now

Beauty Crush: We want Millies gorgeous glow!
15/08/2012. Read now

Welcome
12/08/2012. Read now