Skincare Angels Blog

Manchesters Finest Review Our Refinery Facial

Earlier this month we asked Lee Isherwood from Manchester's Finest to come and try out our Refinery Mens Facial and break the taboo that salons and clinics are a women only zone. Here's what he had to say about his experience.....

With summer fast approaching, or already past us depending on how cynical you're feeling, I've been spending the last few weeks checking out a bit os male 'grooming' around Manchester. This week it was a trip to Skin Health Spa.

The Refinery Mens Facial– an essential treatement for healthy, radiant skin. Sounds good. Although most of the treatments S.H.S are avaialble for men and women alike there is a section designed and intended purely for us, from this I chose the above. Options such as laser hair removal, tattoo removal and waxing (to name a few) were on the table, but I decided on something that people could comfortably opt for as a service and didn’t require quite so much ‘buy-in’ as say a casual laser 

The Refinery Mens Facial– an essential treatement for healthy, radiant skin. Sounds good. Although most of the treatments S.H.S are avaialble for men and women alike there is a section designed and intended purely for us, from this I chose the above. Options such as laser hair removal, tattoo removal and waxing (to name a few) were on the table, but I decided on something that people could comfortably opt for as a service and didn’t require quite so much ‘buy-in’ as say a casual laser treatment.

Although appearing quite feminine upon entry don’t be deterred at the first hurdle, I wasn’t and neither was the bloke sat in the waiting area. I also found out that the customer split is currently around 60/40 women and with the rise over the last few years in not only products but a general attitude shift towards men taking better care of their skin, I can see why this split is getting ever increasingly closer.

Onto the facial itself. The Refinery Facial, named so on account of it being done with selection of products from The Refinery range designed to compliment each other for exactly this purpose. The room is what you’d expect really, a nice little space designed to relax in and that’s all you have to do really, lay back and relax. 30mins or so later I’m relaxed and my face hasn’t felt this soft since I before I can remember, also worth noting the products worked fine with my beard leaving it in much the same way as my face, soft.

So the process was as follows:

-Double cleanse with Refinery Face Wash

-Exfoliate with Refinery Scrub

-Facial massage using an aromatherapy oil

-Apply Refinery Mask and leave for 10-15 mins, usually massage scalp while this is on

-Apply either Mattifying Moisturiser (for oily skin) or Rejuvenating Moisturiser (for a drier skin)

-Finish with a little aroma oil around the eyes

 

So to summarise, man up and have a facial it was great. The staff were fantastic and have obviously dealt with the whole “I’m a man and I don’t know what I’m really doing so walk me thorough it” thing a thousand times, so you’ll be in good hands. Many thanks to Lucy who on this instance was that person.

Lee Isherwood

Thanks for the lovely review Lee, we hope to see you and your fellow males at the clinic again soon. If you'd like to read more of Manchester's Finest's reviews visit: http://www.manchestersfinest.com/articles/skin-health-spa-the-refinery-mens-facial/

 

To find out more, please book a Consultation or call 0800 24 25 145 for more details.

Written by Skin Health Spa, on 13/06/2014

Recent Posts

Detox Myths and Truths
17/01/2017. Read now

COMCIT Facial OK Magazine Feature
04/01/2017. Read now

Cryolipoylsis Fat Freeze Treatment Review By The Quick Red Fox
21/12/2016. Read now

Blogger review on our oxygen facial!
14/12/2016. Read now

Jamie Cullen Reviews our signature Ultimate Facial Treatment
12/12/2016. Read now

Scar treatments
07/12/2016. Read now

Our 12 tips of Christmas!
30/11/2016. Read now

Christmas Gift Guide 2016
23/11/2016. Read now

Tis the season, your party preparation secrets!
23/11/2016. Read now

NEW Cristal Cryolipolysis Fat Freezing Treatment
02/11/2016. Read now

Our Top 7 Halloween Skin Tricks And Treats
20/10/2016. Read now

Is your sleep position contributing to your wrinkles?
28/09/2016. Read now

NEW Mesopeel Chemical Skin Renewal Treatments
14/09/2016. Read now

Skincare Through The Years
12/07/2016. Read now

Skin and Tonic
27/06/2016. Read now

PRP Therapy for Thinning Hair
09/06/2016. Read now

If skin could speak
06/05/2016. Read now

What is Vampire Therapy?
21/04/2016. Read now

A Guide to Facial Fillers
01/04/2016. Read now

Easter Treats That Boost Skin
21/03/2016. Read now

Go Green With Our Top Skin Foods This Paddys Day
17/03/2016. Read now

Understanding Skin Peels
15/02/2016. Read now

New Year Skin Resolutions
05/01/2016. Read now

New Evolutionary MicroNeedling Therapy
14/12/2015. Read now

The Cryo Oxygen Facial Has Arrived
19/11/2015. Read now

Our Guide to Skincare While Flying
10/11/2015. Read now

Whats Fact and Whats Fiction When It Comes To Botox
23/10/2015. Read now

Changing The Face Of Ageing With Botanical Stem Cells
12/10/2015. Read now

Introducing Aqualyx Fat Dissolving Injections
29/09/2015. Read now

Facial Treatment Preferences
22/09/2015. Read now

Transitional Skincare Heading Into Autumn
03/09/2015. Read now

Eye Openers To Put The Sparkle Back
19/08/2015. Read now

The Problem With Hyperpigmentation
30/07/2015. Read now

Mesotherapy for Facial Skin Hydration
23/07/2015. Read now

The Importance of Skin Texture
14/07/2015. Read now

The Right Frequency
01/07/2015. Read now

Treating Scars
22/06/2015. Read now

Post Beard Skin Recovery
18/06/2015. Read now

10k Skin Health Giveaway
17/06/2015. Read now

Semi Permanent Makeup Now Available
15/06/2015. Read now

Survey Shows Brits Are Failing To Protect Skin From Cancer
10/06/2015. Read now

The Benefits of Using Acids in Skincare
01/06/2015. Read now

Wedding Season Is Here
27/05/2015. Read now

5 Tips To Protect Your Skin This Summer
13/05/2015. Read now

The Impact Of Pollution On Your Skin
06/05/2015. Read now

Emerge Laser Treatment Review by The Sentinel
18/03/2015. Read now

Freckle Face Love or Loathe?
17/03/2015. Read now

Pumpkin Peel Review by Chic Muslimah
16/03/2015. Read now

Mothers Day Gift Ideas
09/03/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal vs. IPL What Is The Difference?
04/03/2015. Read now

Tour Of The Juvederm Factory
24/02/2015. Read now

Flint + Flint Swag Bag
20/02/2015. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Emerge Laser for Stretch Marks
19/01/2015. Read now

What Are Skin Boosters?
02/01/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal Case Study
16/12/2014. Read now

Acne Scarring Case Study
09/12/2014. Read now

Stuck For Gift Ideas This Christmas....
03/12/2014. Read now

New Flint plus Flint Candle and Review By Erin Bells
02/12/2014. Read now

Christmas Has Come To Skin Health Spa
24/11/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight The Micropeel
14/11/2014. Read now

A Case Study Of Acne Treatment
07/11/2014. Read now

Skin Tips For The Upcoming Party Season
23/10/2014. Read now

Stoptober Healthier Looking Skin In No Time
14/10/2014. Read now

Preparing Your Skin For Autumn
30/09/2014. Read now

Antioxidant Power
11/09/2014. Read now

A Case Study of Sun Damaged Skin
21/08/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight Eye Hero
28/07/2014. Read now

Dispelling Skin Myths
21/07/2014. Read now

Tales Of Timler Reviews Our Louie Facial
09/07/2014. Read now

Flint Plus Flint Skincare Lands At SHS Clinics
23/06/2014. Read now

Manchesters Finest Review Our Refinery Facial
13/06/2014. Read now

Skin Supplements Whats it all about?
21/05/2014. Read now

Your Essential Countdown To Summer
15/05/2014. Read now

EMERALD STREET REVIEW
01/05/2014. Read now

Colonic Hydrotherapy Now Available
29/04/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert! Agera The No Prep Peel
15/04/2014. Read now

Our Hollywood Effect Facial Features in Grazia
01/04/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Juvederm Hydrate
27/03/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight: EyeBrite Serum
18/03/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert Dermafrac
10/03/2014. Read now

NEW Six Steps To Skin Health Treatment Card
07/03/2014. Read now

JuiceToU Skin Detox Review
18/02/2014. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Aromatherapy Massage
06/02/2014. Read now

What A Year
08/01/2014. Read now

Christmas Shop
10/12/2013. Read now

New Men Only Treatment Card
18/11/2013. Read now

New Treatment Alert MangoBrite Peel
24/09/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Sculptra
14/08/2013. Read now

An Evening Of Indulgence For St Lukes Hospice
12/08/2013. Read now

Its Back The 50% Off Sale
06/08/2013. Read now

Dorridge Make Over Complete
25/07/2013. Read now

New Lustre Pure Light Pro
12/07/2013. Read now

Skincare rewards
10/07/2013. Read now

The Importance Of Sun Protection
17/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Danielle Lloyds Baby Shower
15/05/2013. Read now

Makeover Treat For Celebrity Mum
22/04/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Clear & Brilliant Laser
09/04/2013. Read now

Rebecca Moss Treatment Review
25/03/2013. Read now

First Round Of Sweepstakes Winners
25/03/2013. Read now

New Flagship Manchester Clinic Now Open
06/03/2013. Read now

Makeup Bag Essentials Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics
26/02/2013. Read now

Professional Beauty Awards 2013 Winner
26/02/2013. Read now

Diary Of A Laser Hair Removal Course Treatment 1
01/02/2013. Read now

The Refinery Mens Grooming Collection
30/01/2013. Read now

Xen Tan Dark Lotion Review
02/11/2012. Read now

October Hot Offers
20/10/2012. Read now

Chemical & Physical Exfoliation: What's The Differ
16/10/2012. Read now

Weird & Wonderful Beauty Treatments
08/10/2012. Read now

Moroccan Oil REVIEW
17/09/2012. Read now

Nail Art Inspiration
17/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Transderm
17/09/2012. Read now

London Fashion Week Beauty Trend
17/09/2012. Read now

The Low Down On Laser Hair Removal
17/09/2012. Read now

Essie
14/09/2012. Read now

The Ultimate Facial REVIEW
14/09/2012. Read now

Emma Watson
12/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Skin Rejuvenation
10/09/2012. Read now

The Importance Of Double Cleansing
04/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Ultimate Facial
04/09/2012. Read now

We Love Beauty Bloggers!
31/08/2012. Read now

DIY Beauty: Chocolate and Vanilla Bath Melts
29/08/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Enzyme Facial
24/08/2012. Read now

Sleeping Beauty: Do You Get Enough Beauty Sleep?
21/08/2012. Read now

Youngblood Cosmetics: Now Available At Skin Health
19/08/2012. Read now

Beauty Crush: We want Millies gorgeous glow!
15/08/2012. Read now

Welcome
12/08/2012. Read now