Skincare Angels Blog

Tales Of Timler Reviews Our Louie Facial

Earlier this month we invited Tim from Tales of Timler to our Manchester clinic to have his first ever facial. He agreed, signed up to 'The Louie' and here's what he thought...

Louie Spence & My First Facial

As you might be aware, this blog isn't really a male beauty blog. I'm a lad who likes to care for his appearance - I have a slightly unhealthy obsession with my hair, but you won't find me buying moisturisers and face serums over the counter. But, after a long five days out in the sun at Glastonbury, I forgave myself a little pampering and treated myself to my very first facial.

But not just any facial. I thought, if I'm going to delve into the world of men's grooming, why not go all in. So, rather than grabbing a brillo pad and some exfoliator, I booked myself in for what some might refer to as the most 'fabulous' sounding treatment going at the Skin Health Spa in Manchester. The treatment in question is 'The Louie' and is named after dancing queen, Louie Spence, who endorses and helped develop the process.

So onto The Louie and the Skin Health Spa angels. For a first-time health spa visitor, the experience was extremely relaxing. Their clean, boudoir-esque interiors mean that you instantly feel like your in the lap of luxury, and that this really is a treat. Not the first thing that I was thinking about pre-treatment, but just taking 45 minutes out to sit in a quiet, slightly darkened room after a hectic day at the office really can make a world of difference to your mood - there's a joke about wanting to fall asleep after a facial in there but I'm not willing to make it.

The technicians really know their stuff as well - there's a story behind every treatment and exactly what they're putting onto/into your skin. The Louie itself starts off with a round of microdermabrasion, which I can only describe as skin buffing using tiny crystals to take away that top layer of skin which traps all the dirt and grime. The equipment they use looks a little like the moisture vacuum you might find at the dentist but feels a lot better, and is a chemical-free treatment so all good for the skin!

Following that, it's a bit closer to that T-zone scene in Friends. The microdermabrasion clears away all the crap, which allows the mudmask they then apply to give your skin the boost you think it needs. Again, it's a chemical-free approach and the mask contains lots of lovely natural ingredients, like volcanic ash. From which volcano though, my technician wasn't entirely sure - you can't have everything in this world, can you?

There's also a whole heap of facial massaging going on and, as the mask dries, you can feel your skin tightening and becoming a little more glorious than when you went in. The mask is then peeled and then, stopping short of making a grandiose liking to butterflies and cocoons, you're face is as comfortable as fresh bedsheets.

So, from my first Louie Spence facial - which is a lot less 'pump, pump, squirt' than the name suggests - I can definitely see why there's a market for this kind of thing. It's a 'men only' treatment which might not necessarily appeal to the 'man's man' market but is something worth considering. Skinhealth Spa reckon around 40% of their clients are men and, given the number of male grooming blogs out there, it's becoming a massive market. After all, why shouldn't men look after themselves? Recent research suggests that over half of us use at least six grooming products a day and, based on the difference in the feel of my skin after just one session, I'll definitely be giving mine a little more attention.

So there you have it! Facials and taking care of your skin isn't just for the female of the speciies. To take the plunge and book in for your first facial contact your nearest clinic on 0800 24 25 145 or to find out more about the any of our facial treatments leave an enquiry here. 

 

Thanks for the lovely review Tim, hope to you see at the clinic again soon. 

To find out more, please book a Consultation or call 0800 24 25 145 for more details.

Written by Skin Health Spa, on 09/07/2014

Recent Posts

Detox Myths and Truths
17/01/2017. Read now

COMCIT Facial OK Magazine Feature
04/01/2017. Read now

Cryolipoylsis Fat Freeze Treatment Review By The Quick Red Fox
21/12/2016. Read now

Blogger review on our oxygen facial!
14/12/2016. Read now

Jamie Cullen Reviews our signature Ultimate Facial Treatment
12/12/2016. Read now

Scar treatments
07/12/2016. Read now

Our 12 tips of Christmas!
30/11/2016. Read now

Christmas Gift Guide 2016
23/11/2016. Read now

Tis the season, your party preparation secrets!
23/11/2016. Read now

NEW Cristal Cryolipolysis Fat Freezing Treatment
02/11/2016. Read now

Our Top 7 Halloween Skin Tricks And Treats
20/10/2016. Read now

Is your sleep position contributing to your wrinkles?
28/09/2016. Read now

NEW Mesopeel Chemical Skin Renewal Treatments
14/09/2016. Read now

Skincare Through The Years
12/07/2016. Read now

Skin and Tonic
27/06/2016. Read now

PRP Therapy for Thinning Hair
09/06/2016. Read now

If skin could speak
06/05/2016. Read now

What is Vampire Therapy?
21/04/2016. Read now

A Guide to Facial Fillers
01/04/2016. Read now

Easter Treats That Boost Skin
21/03/2016. Read now

Go Green With Our Top Skin Foods This Paddys Day
17/03/2016. Read now

Understanding Skin Peels
15/02/2016. Read now

New Year Skin Resolutions
05/01/2016. Read now

New Evolutionary MicroNeedling Therapy
14/12/2015. Read now

The Cryo Oxygen Facial Has Arrived
19/11/2015. Read now

Our Guide to Skincare While Flying
10/11/2015. Read now

Whats Fact and Whats Fiction When It Comes To Botox
23/10/2015. Read now

Changing The Face Of Ageing With Botanical Stem Cells
12/10/2015. Read now

Introducing Aqualyx Fat Dissolving Injections
29/09/2015. Read now

Facial Treatment Preferences
22/09/2015. Read now

Transitional Skincare Heading Into Autumn
03/09/2015. Read now

Eye Openers To Put The Sparkle Back
19/08/2015. Read now

The Problem With Hyperpigmentation
30/07/2015. Read now

Mesotherapy for Facial Skin Hydration
23/07/2015. Read now

The Importance of Skin Texture
14/07/2015. Read now

The Right Frequency
01/07/2015. Read now

Treating Scars
22/06/2015. Read now

Post Beard Skin Recovery
18/06/2015. Read now

10k Skin Health Giveaway
17/06/2015. Read now

Semi Permanent Makeup Now Available
15/06/2015. Read now

Survey Shows Brits Are Failing To Protect Skin From Cancer
10/06/2015. Read now

The Benefits of Using Acids in Skincare
01/06/2015. Read now

Wedding Season Is Here
27/05/2015. Read now

5 Tips To Protect Your Skin This Summer
13/05/2015. Read now

The Impact Of Pollution On Your Skin
06/05/2015. Read now

Emerge Laser Treatment Review by The Sentinel
18/03/2015. Read now

Freckle Face Love or Loathe?
17/03/2015. Read now

Pumpkin Peel Review by Chic Muslimah
16/03/2015. Read now

Mothers Day Gift Ideas
09/03/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal vs. IPL What Is The Difference?
04/03/2015. Read now

Tour Of The Juvederm Factory
24/02/2015. Read now

Flint + Flint Swag Bag
20/02/2015. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Emerge Laser for Stretch Marks
19/01/2015. Read now

What Are Skin Boosters?
02/01/2015. Read now

Laser Hair Removal Case Study
16/12/2014. Read now

Acne Scarring Case Study
09/12/2014. Read now

Stuck For Gift Ideas This Christmas....
03/12/2014. Read now

New Flint plus Flint Candle and Review By Erin Bells
02/12/2014. Read now

Christmas Has Come To Skin Health Spa
24/11/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight The Micropeel
14/11/2014. Read now

A Case Study Of Acne Treatment
07/11/2014. Read now

Skin Tips For The Upcoming Party Season
23/10/2014. Read now

Stoptober Healthier Looking Skin In No Time
14/10/2014. Read now

Preparing Your Skin For Autumn
30/09/2014. Read now

Antioxidant Power
11/09/2014. Read now

A Case Study of Sun Damaged Skin
21/08/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight Eye Hero
28/07/2014. Read now

Dispelling Skin Myths
21/07/2014. Read now

Tales Of Timler Reviews Our Louie Facial
09/07/2014. Read now

Flint Plus Flint Skincare Lands At SHS Clinics
23/06/2014. Read now

Manchesters Finest Review Our Refinery Facial
13/06/2014. Read now

Skin Supplements Whats it all about?
21/05/2014. Read now

Your Essential Countdown To Summer
15/05/2014. Read now

EMERALD STREET REVIEW
01/05/2014. Read now

Colonic Hydrotherapy Now Available
29/04/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert! Agera The No Prep Peel
15/04/2014. Read now

Our Hollywood Effect Facial Features in Grazia
01/04/2014. Read now

Treatment Spotlight: Juvederm Hydrate
27/03/2014. Read now

Product Spotlight: EyeBrite Serum
18/03/2014. Read now

NEW Treatment Alert Dermafrac
10/03/2014. Read now

NEW Six Steps To Skin Health Treatment Card
07/03/2014. Read now

JuiceToU Skin Detox Review
18/02/2014. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Aromatherapy Massage
06/02/2014. Read now

What A Year
08/01/2014. Read now

Christmas Shop
10/12/2013. Read now

New Men Only Treatment Card
18/11/2013. Read now

New Treatment Alert MangoBrite Peel
24/09/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Sculptra
14/08/2013. Read now

An Evening Of Indulgence For St Lukes Hospice
12/08/2013. Read now

Its Back The 50% Off Sale
06/08/2013. Read now

Dorridge Make Over Complete
25/07/2013. Read now

New Lustre Pure Light Pro
12/07/2013. Read now

Skincare rewards
10/07/2013. Read now

The Importance Of Sun Protection
17/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Midlands Super Clinic
13/06/2013. Read now

Danielle Lloyds Baby Shower
15/05/2013. Read now

Makeover Treat For Celebrity Mum
22/04/2013. Read now

Spotlight Treatment Clear & Brilliant Laser
09/04/2013. Read now

Rebecca Moss Treatment Review
25/03/2013. Read now

First Round Of Sweepstakes Winners
25/03/2013. Read now

New Flagship Manchester Clinic Now Open
06/03/2013. Read now

Makeup Bag Essentials Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics
26/02/2013. Read now

Professional Beauty Awards 2013 Winner
26/02/2013. Read now

Diary Of A Laser Hair Removal Course Treatment 1
01/02/2013. Read now

The Refinery Mens Grooming Collection
30/01/2013. Read now

Xen Tan Dark Lotion Review
02/11/2012. Read now

October Hot Offers
20/10/2012. Read now

Chemical & Physical Exfoliation: What's The Differ
16/10/2012. Read now

Weird & Wonderful Beauty Treatments
08/10/2012. Read now

Moroccan Oil REVIEW
17/09/2012. Read now

Nail Art Inspiration
17/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Transderm
17/09/2012. Read now

London Fashion Week Beauty Trend
17/09/2012. Read now

The Low Down On Laser Hair Removal
17/09/2012. Read now

Essie
14/09/2012. Read now

The Ultimate Facial REVIEW
14/09/2012. Read now

Emma Watson
12/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Skin Rejuvenation
10/09/2012. Read now

The Importance Of Double Cleansing
04/09/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Ultimate Facial
04/09/2012. Read now

We Love Beauty Bloggers!
31/08/2012. Read now

DIY Beauty: Chocolate and Vanilla Bath Melts
29/08/2012. Read now

Spotlight Treatment: Enzyme Facial
24/08/2012. Read now

Sleeping Beauty: Do You Get Enough Beauty Sleep?
21/08/2012. Read now

Youngblood Cosmetics: Now Available At Skin Health
19/08/2012. Read now

Beauty Crush: We want Millies gorgeous glow!
15/08/2012. Read now

Welcome
12/08/2012. Read now